The Obligatory New Year’s post. And Cupcakes.

1 Comment

I know you’re sick of it already. The celery. The treadmill. The lack of ice cream in your life. You’re sick of hearing about other people resoluting to be better and kinder and how they feel that taking up yoga these past two weeks has really connected their mind with their body and their soul.

I’m sorry. I need to tell you about my resolutions. So I don’t stop doing them.

First of all, I didn’t start them until January 7th. I gave myself a week of mind prep time/holiday hangover, stuffing my face with donuts every chance I had.

My resolution this year is not to lose five pounds. It’s not to run a mile every morning (never will I ever). It’s not to organize every item in my closet by color/shape/designer and keep it like that. It’s to be more aware.

Aware of what I’m putting into my body. You know, realizing that grabbing a handful of m&ms for breakfast doesn’t count as breakfast.

Aware of my posture (this is a big one).

Aware of what comes out of my mouth (I too often speak before thinking).

Aware of what I’m spending. Sometimes I look at my wallet and I’m like what the what, didn’t I just have lotsa dolla bills? Did they walk away? And then I’m like oh right. Starbucks ain’t cheap.

So far, four days in, I’m diggin this approach to resoluting. Keeping track of what I’m doing has really helped me realize that I was a little reckless with my spending and eating habits before. I’ve been using two different apps to keep track of my food and money, and it’s really nice to know exactly how much it takes to keep a body living. The first day I used the MyFitnessPal app, I found out that I was eating 159 grams too much of sugar. Bad vibes yo. Since then, when I go to reach for a handful of cinnamon toast crunch I’m like hey self, why don’t you have a handful of pistachios instead? Realizing how much bad stuff was going into my body has made me want to stop. I don’t know how long this will last, I’m hoping I can train my body to stop craving chocolate chip cookies every hour on the hour. (Just so you know, I am definitely NOT on “a diet.” I’m really just trying to be kinder to my body, I’ve been feeling really sluggish and stomachachy lately so I decided it was time to change). Also, I’m able to put in any recipe and it spits out the nutrition facts. I’m sure they’re not exact, but it’s really nice to know how many calories is in each cupcake I make for all of those diet crazy January humans.

The expense/income tracking app I’m using is Mint. I’ve had an account on their website, which I love love love. I can put in every dollar I make and every dollar I spend. It keeps track of all of my bank accounts and credit cards, and lets me know when bills are due. I’ve set up personal budgets and there was a little money left over that I can put towards a goal, which the site helps you figure out the exact cost of. So amazing.

I was not compensated to post about these apps, I’m just a little bit excited about them.

All of that being said, how about some cupcakes?

The photos I took were extremely out of focus, so here’s a dinky instagram picture for y’all.

French Toast CupcakesFrench Toast Cupcakes

Recipe adapted from Bakingdom.com

ingredients

Struesel

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 5 TBSP cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes

Cupcakes

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 TBSP baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 TBSP vanilla

Frosting

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (real deal…aunt jemima is out)

To make the streusel, combine all of the dry ingredients in a bowl and cut the butter in using a pastry blender or a fork until it resembles crumbs. Alternatively, make this in a food processor. Freeze while you make the batter.

For the cupcake batter, combine all of the dry ingredients in the bowl of a mixer. Then add the butter slowly (I did half a stick at a time so the dry ingredients wouldn’t go everywhere). Add the yogurt, eggs and vanilla and mix until combined and smooth. Note that this batter is very different from your average cupcake batter, it has a lot of eggs to make it bready-er and denser. Divide the batter among 24 standard cupcake tins, top with equal amounts of streusel. Bake at 350 for 15-18 minutes until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean and the cupcakes spring back to the touch.

While they cool, make the frosting. Whip together the butter and confectioners sugar until smooth, add the vanilla salt and maple syrup and whip on high speed until super fluffy. I used a spatula to frost my cupcakes so I could make a well in the center for an additional sip of maple syrup, which I really think boosted the cupcakes up notch.

Share with friends, even the dieting Januarys can’t turn down these cupcakes!

Enjoy,

audrey

 

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “The Obligatory New Year’s post. And Cupcakes.

  1. Your resolutions for this year are wonderful! Good luck with staying on track. Will be good for you, the healthier eating and more conservative spending. Paying yourself first is the key to any good budget (have you read The Wealthy Barber, great book about saving money etc., and an easy, enjoyable read).
    These cupcakes and the Instagram shot of them look wonderful! I love the flavour. All the best to you in 2013 Audrey. Love the new blog look by the way.

Leave a Reply

