Eight little things that improve my days

2 Comments

 

(My family and I are lucky enough to be able to walk in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade as balloon handlers, this was my first year since you have to be 18 and got to walk with this good man, Charlie Brown!)

1. Starting my day with a clementine. There’s nothing better than a burst of fresh citrus to wake me up in the morning, and throughout the day as I’m about to eat that brownie/extra slice of cheese/second chocolate milk I can say to myself, “Self, you ate a clementine this morning. And it’s practically Christmas. Go for it.”

2. Listening to this song. Any time of day. Sometimes on repeat. And seeing the looks I get when I dance to it in my car.

3. Wearing red lipstick. I only picked up this habit two weeks ago, because for a long time I feared I would look like I’m trying too hard. Trying to hard at what? I now ask myself. Trying to hard to be confident and bold? No such thing. Red lipstick makes me want to smile approximately 9000 times more than the average human.

4. Similar to red lipstick, I also feared wearing heels on a regular day until about a month ago. Have you ever pushed a shopping cart in heels? Woah it makes me feel important.

5. Lighting this (super cheap and awesomely natural) candle in one room, leaving that room for about a half an hour, and then coming back to be slapped in the face with some really authentic smelling christamssy goodness. (ps. I got them at target for two bucks each).

6. Waking up to an empty sink. Yes, I’m learning that taking those extra five minutes while bleary eyed before bed to empty the nasty dishes in the sink into the dishwasher is important. Not seeing cold water mixed with food in dirty bowls in the morning is AWESOME.

7. Having a conversation with someone on the phone. With texting, it’s so easy for us to say that we’re keeping in touch with everyone we know. But in real life, it’s nice to hear someones voice on the other side of the phone. To get a sense of how they really feel about their new roommate, to have a chance to talk about the silly things like how delicious their froot loops were this morning, to feel like it’s actually them. I had never really had conversations with people on the phone (much like the rest of my generation) until all of my friends moved away for college, and having the chance to talk to them even for ten minutes on the phone makes me feel more at home (even though I am home), as I’m sure it does for them.

8. Giving the computer a break at least thirty minutes before I go to bed. And using those thirty minutes to daydream. About how wonderful my life is at this moment, about the farm I’m going to live on one day with my chickens and cows, about the babies I’m going to get to see the next day. My life is pretty cool, I like to take at least a half an hour a day to think about how cool it is so I don’t forget.

What silly little things improve your days?

Cheers!
Audrey

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

2 thoughts on “Eight little things that improve my days

  1. How cool that you got to be a balloon handler in the Thanksgiving Day parade!
    Love clementines…don’t eat them enough.
    Never heard of Brooke Fraser, thanks for the link. Catchy tune alright :)
    Love red lipstick…I never leave the house without lipstick on…I never stay in the house without lipstick on!
    Used to wear heels all the time…not so much since I retired.
    The candle scent sound awesome.
    Rather obsessed about having dishes in my sink…any time of day, always been a *clean as you go* girl.
    I have never sent a text!
    Try to go completely off-line by 10:00 p.m. though I then watch mindless T.V. shows. Should do more reflecting as you do.

  2. so jealous you got to be a balloon handler. i must do this someday!!

Leave a Reply

