Get your eye-talian on.

1 Comment

My house has a 2-1 male to female ratio. Which means that over these past two years I’ve been forced to learn a few things. Like how to just accept that there will always be toothpaste on the faucet, for example. And that a meal is not a meal if it doesn’t include animal. I think the most important thing I’ve learned, though, is how to appreciate a good mob movie. Have you ever met a man over 16 who can’t recite at least 5 lines from the Godfather or Goodfellas from memory? It took me a while, but I’m finally warming up to these painfully long movies. I think this scene is the one that sold it for me. Even if you’ve never seen these movies, you know this line

Image

I am not a huge cannoli person (I rather hate them), so I can’t tell you if this recipe is great or not. The cake itself was delicious, but I make no promises about the frosting. It was kind of loose when I first frosted the cupcakes but it’s firmed up a bit now that they’ve sat in the fridge for a while. 

Image

Maybe you should go ask your dad if he’ll watch The Godfather with you, and make him these cupcakes. He probably won’t even notice if you walk out of the room four minutes into the movie and never come back because the fact that you asked him to watch the man’s ultimate movie with him will make him so happy. 

Happy march!

Image

Cannoli Cupcakes

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes

White Cake

ingredients:

2 cups sugar

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

4 eggs

1 Tbsp+1 tsp vanilla

3 cups flour

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 cup milk

3 TBSP plain yogurt (greek or whole fat regular)

Preheat to 350.

Cream butter and sugar for at least 7 minutes, you want this super duper fluffy. 

Add in the eggs, and beat for another 2-3 minutes.

Add vanilla, beat to combine.

Whisk together flour and baking powder, add in three batches alternating with milk&yogurt.

Line about 30 cupcake cups with liners, and scoop batter in so they are 1/2 full. Bake for 20 minutes or so, until the tops spring back to the touch (don’t go by the clean toothpick thing, mine came out clean even though the cupcakes were way underdone).

Cannoli Frosting

ingredients

1 lb ricotta cheese (16 oz)

3 cups confectioners sugar

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup heavy cream

1 packet unflavored gelatin

Beat together the ricotta, confectioners, and vanilla for 2-3 minutes until totally combined. 

In a separate bowl, whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form. Add the gelatin and beat for another minute until the cream firms up a bit (don’t overbeat, it’ll turn to butter!!) The gelatin stabilizes the cream, so the cupcakes can be frosted in advance. Otherwise the frosting would eventually just fall apart and melt off the cupcakes.

Fold the whipped cream gently into the ricotta mixture. If you serve them right away, you will notice a grainy texture from the gelatin. It takes a few hours in the fridge for it to completely dissolve. 

I piped this frosting onto my cooled cupcakes using a round tip, and finished them off with some bittersweet chocolate shavings as opposed to the traditional mini chocolate chips. 

Enjoy!!

One last picture, from my latest instagram obsession…

Image

ps if you aren’t following me on instagram, please do! my username is playswithfood.

you can also check me out on the book of faces here.

xo,

audrey

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “Get your eye-talian on.

  1. I’ve never even eaten a cannoli yet and I’m probably the last person who hasn’t tried Instagram! I will say that your cupcakes look delicious. Maybe I’ll try a cannoli cupcake before I even try a cannoli :)

Leave a Reply

