You’ll Find Them

2 Comments

First of all… SUPERBOWL GIANTS. First year I understand football and they win, I think I’m spoiled for life. Anway,

It’s Monday. Have you heard?

You feel like blah.

And so did I.

As sunny as I try to be, sometimes Monday’s get me too.

I ate cheese with every meal yesterday, with a side of carbs each time. I’m sure you did something similar.

Therefore, I woke up feeling like blah. Blah blah blob.

And then the sun came out.

And then I got a parking spot at school (a rare occurrence).

And then I had one of those awesome radio-played-five-great-songs-in-a-row moments.

And then I got a high five from my teacher that sounds like a leprechaun.

And then a middle schooler remembered my name.

And then I wasn’t called on to read out loud in Italian.

And then I realized I hadn’t been in a battle with static electricity once today.

And then I remembered that I have beautiful fresh tulips sitting on my counter.

And then I saw the ocean.

And then I booked a fun order.

And then I ate a delicious cookie.

All of these things, they made my Monday unblah. I didn’t realize it until I thought about it, but my Monday was fantastic. You’ll find these moments too, if you think about it hard enough. Eventually it will (hopefully) become an every night activity for you, like it has for me. Before you fall asleep just think about all of the great things that have happened to you today, no matter how small. A really hot shower is even enough to make you smile just for a minute. Or the curly pigtails of the little girl you saw in the pizza place. Or the kind eyed stranger smile you gave or received.

Look for these moments, you will find them. Don’t let the size of a happy thing stop you from noticing it.

Oh and you should make these and share them with people you like (or love)

Peanut Butter Cookies with Ganache Filling

Recipe Adapted from Created by Diane

 

Peanut Butter Cookies

ingredients:

2 sticks unsalted butter

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup dark brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

3 1/2 cups flour

Preheat oven to 350.

Beat the butter, peanut butter, and sugars on high for 5 minutes, until light and fluffy.
Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.
Add the baking soda and beat until it disappears.
Slowly add the flour until just combined.
The original recipe says that you can roll out the dough at this point and then cut shapes to bake, I found that the dough was way too loose for that. You can either refrigerate the dough or just do what I did and be lazy and drop the dough onto the parchment lined sheets to bake.
Bake for 10-14 minutes, until just turning light brown around the edges. Cool.
Fill with ganache.

Ganache Filling

Ingredients:

1 12 oz bag chocolate chips, preferably mini

1 cup heavy cream

Heat the heavy cream on the stove until it just begins to steam, pour over the chocolate chips and let it sit for about 2 minutes. After waiting, stir in small circles until smooth and chocolatey and luscious. Refrigerate for about an hour, stirring at 15 minute intervals until the filling hardens up a bit. Spoon or pipe between two cookies and refrigerate.

Enjoy!

Audrey

ps..sorry for another post with cell phone pictures, the sun was going down as I was about to shoot these and realized my camera was dead so I had to act fast and the first thing I grabbed was my phone.

 

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

2 thoughts on “You’ll Find Them

  1. My Monday was made just brighter by this post! You always make me smile and these cookies and that ganache…delicious. Hope you have a wonderful week.

  2. These look great, I love chocolate ganache. If the butter is too soft and you aren’t able to roll them out, you can add 1/4 cup more flour if you want to cut them out :)

Leave a Reply

