Life is what happens

3 Comments

…to you while you’re busy making plans.

I think that hippie was right. So I listened. I stopped making plans. I stopped thinking about the future. I stopped pausing to blog about it all. I lifed.

I took a mental video of the day last week that an 8th grader in Mrs. H’s 9th period English class idolized me for using the word, “hullaballoo”.

I rolled down the window and had an impromptu red light conversation with the town next door’s yellow buggy driving happy girl, and we made each other’s day. (We used to secretly park next to each other at the gym and leave notes on our windshields… but I had no idea who she was and she had no idea who I was).

I saw the most perfect sunrise I’ve yet to see (and broke my strict policy of no electronics during sunrises).

I really ate a 9pm dinner of chocolate mousse, fries, and cream puffs. Yes, I’m taking full advantage of this 17 year old metabolism.

I learned that when my grandma was 17, she was pretty much a model…

and that my other grandma thinks she IS one now…

 

I got one of my 5 year old friend off the bus, and got endless laughs out of the brain he insisted on his snowman having. And I hope I’ll never forget how just seconds after drawing that, he told me that I can’t go to school because I’m a grown up.

I painted that boring silver mirror red.

And one day last week I woke up and decided that it was no longer time for this to be attached to me, it should belong to someone who wants it more than I do.

These moments, these changes, these exclamation points, they are what make up our lives. It’s not just the tenth birthday parties and weddings and graduations that deserve recording, it’s the ordinary parts of our lives that make us unique. Don’t be afraid to whip out that cell phone camera at any and all times. Looking back at your every day will tell you who you really are.

Now go out and life it up!

xo

Audrey

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

3 thoughts on “Life is what happens

  1. That was John Lennon of the Beatles who said that. Morning light is the best light for Photo’s Nice Shot !!

  2. You are so beyond your years….. :)

  3. A. Glad you and town next door yellow bug driver conversed…with words
    B. Very happy your broke your *no electronics* rule and shared the beauty with us
    C. Both your grandmother’s are beautiful….you inherited some awesome genes
    D. Five year-old is a smart little cookie
    E. Red bathroom mirror is A.W.E.S.O.M.E.
    F. Reflection in red bathroom mirror is beautiful…inside and out! :)

Leave a Reply

