Cupcake Cones..and how they crash

Leave a comment

Saturday, 2pm: Harry potter theme song plays softly from my phone, indicating that one of my cousins is calling.

Me: “Hello?”

Erin: “Hi! It’s me. Can you make me cupcakes in ice cream cones for my birthday monday?”

Me (secretly thinking that cupcakes in ice cream cones is way to sweet. No matter how cute they are, I was never a fan): “Why don’t I just make you regular cupcakes instead? Don’t more people like those?”

Erin: “No!! Everyone loooooves the cone ones! Can you make thirty half chocolate and half vanilla?”

Me (reluctantly, but only because I can’t say no to an almost double digits girl): “Sure. See you tomorrow. Love you!”

Erin: “Love you too!”

There’s a little foreshadowing for ya.

Sunday, 8am:

Me: Morning Eric! I know it’s ridiculously early for you but I’ve been up since 6 and I’ve got stuff to do and I have to get cones for Erin’s cupcakes, can you drive me to the store?

Eric: mmmmmrrrmmmmmmmrrrrrrrrmmmm.

Me: you’re the best brother ever.

After about two hours of baking these cupcakes and a half hour of decorating, they were ready to be boxed up. Ahh. I make a box, and precariously perch it halfway onto the counter in my kitchen, which is t-r-a-s-h-e-d. Thinking to myself, I shouldn’t be doing this. I’m so dumb. This is going to fall down the second I start putting cupcakes in.

Haha. One of those moments that I hate being right. I sat on the ground and stared at the cupcakes for a good ten minutes, wondering what I would tell Erin. Thankfully, being the happy spirit that she is, she just laughed at me. You were right Miley, Nobody’s Perfect.

The moral of the story is: Don’t put boxes only halfway onto the counter. And if you do happen to drop 30 cupcakes face down on the ground, have a few hershey kisses and listen to some Talking Heads. It’s all good.

I did manage to snap a few pictures before the disaster! I used this cupcake recipe in flat ice cream cones and topped them with this frosting, piped through a Wilton 1M tip so they’d look like real soft serve cones.

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

