Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins

1 Comment

Sometimes I have dreams.

Dreams that I have no hair.

Dreams that students are the teachers.

Dreams that I actually am Katherine Heigl in 27 Dresses.

You know, the average ones.

And then sometimes I have dreams that I open my fridge and blueberries just start pouring out, there’s nothing I can do to stop it.

Then I wake up. I wake up and right away recognize my craving for blueberry muffins. I’m totally pumped because I know that I have all of these blueberries to use up. That’s until I go to get my juice box out of the fridge and realize that there are actually no blueberries in the house. Then I kindly ask my favorite brother to take me to the grocery store and buy bushels of blueberries.

It may have taken me two days to get to making said muffins, what with all of this yummy sunshine, but it was so worth the wait. The ultimate summer breakfast treat, these muffins are perfect for the week after Memorial Day Weekend. I’m happy that I didn’t get to make these muffins until last night, because if I’d made them any sooner, I wouldn’t have realized that Forrest Gump is the perfect thing to watch while making blueberry muffins. All I want to do is reach through that screen, give Forrest a hug, and hand him a blueberry muffin while I sit down next to him and let him tell me his story.

Thanks Ina, for this positively scrumptious recipe.

{lazy picture day} oh also, sometimes I throw some sugar in the raw on top before baking. just for kicks.

Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins

Makes about 20

Adapted (barely) from Ina Garten

ingredients:

-1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

-1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

-3 eggs

-1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

-8 oz sour cream (1 cups)

-1/4 cup milk

-1 cup all purpose flour

-1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

-2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 pint fresh blueberries, washed and dried

Preheat to 350

Cream butter and sugar for about 4 minutes until light and fluffy

Crack eggs into a separate bowl, add to creamed butter and beat until combined.

Add sour cream, milk, and vanilla, beat until combined. (It will look curdled at this point, that’s okay!)

In a separate bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Slowly mix into the wet mixture just until combined.

Toss blueberries with a few tablespoons of flour before folding into batter (this prevents them from falling to the bottom of the muffins)

Separate into 20 lined sections of a muffin pan, bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes until edges just begin to become golden and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Enjoy with sweet butter and jam! Happy June!

-Audrey

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. Mmm, that’s a breakfast that would make me smile. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-20.html

Leave a Reply

