Peanut Butter Candy Bar Cookies

1 Comment

I like to be prepared. Always. I’m the person who has a camera, tissues, gum, lollipops, purell, hair bands, safety pins, band aids, extra pens, and food for anyone who needs it. Of course, this means that I usually carry around a large bag with me. I wish that I didn’t need to, I really kind of hate carrying bags. And then one time I got a tiny scratch on the screen of my rebel and decided that I needed to get a camera bag. But I hate camera bags, and most of them don’t have room for all of that other stuff that I needed. Until I saw this. I immediately knew that I needed it. It’s description was calling out to me. And the gorgeous nautical red stripes, sigh. Unfortunately, it had a rather large price tag. It took me 3 cakes to pay off this one. So worth it. I waited three months to be sure that it was the one. I might seem crazy, talking about this bag like it was the biggest decision of my life, but I’m not a big designer person so $150 for a bag is a huge amount for me.

^sloop in action. I’ve heard people complain about how the strap gets all twisty like that, but it really doesn’t bother me. I’ve also heard people say that it looks like a stylish diaper bag. I’m strangely okay with that.

So what does all of this prepared-ness have to do with food? Good question. Whenever I’m going on any sort of day trip, be it a field trip or even just a day out with my friends, like to the beach or something, I make sure that I have food. When I was little, I used to go crazy when I didn’t have food every few hours so I just got used to having a little nosh (thanks Kate’s dad, I now use that word constantly) with me at all times. Now I’m a normal human being who can go more than two hours without eating (sometimes), so I carry food with me mostly for other people. For example, I was going on a field trip to six flags the other day with my physics class. This entailed getting to school at 6:30 so we could be on time to sit on a bus for the better part of three hours. We’d spend the entire day at the park only to drag our exhausted butts back onto our ever so comfortable seats on the bus. I knew that a little sugar kick would be needed by all.

So I made these. Peanut butter candy bar cookies. I figured that they had some protein with the peanut butter, making them the perfect early morning or late afternoon pick me up. These are outrageous. Melt in your mouth peanut butter cookies chock full of dark chips, bits of snickers, and reeses. I made them extra small so I can have lots of them. Sometimes I use my noggin.

Peanut Butter Candy Bar Cookies

makes: a lot

Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

ingredients:

1 1/4 cups flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1 cup peanut butter (I use skippy natural, or at least they say it’s natural, there’s no need to stir!)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 large egg

1 Tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup chopped snickers

3/4 cup chopped reeses

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat to 400. (For mini cookies, which this recipe provides. If you want normal size cookies, preheat to 350 and skip the splitting in half balls of dough part at the end of the recipe).

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Cream together butter, peanut butter, and sugars for about three minutes until light and fluffy.

Add the egg and beat until combined.

Add vanilla and milk and beat until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl occasionally.

On low speed, add the flour mixture just until it’s mixed in. Stir in snickers, reeses, and chocolate chips by hand.

Using a tablespoon sized cookie scoop, scoop out tablespoon sized balls of dough. Break those in half and place on a parchment lined baking sheet about an inch apart. Flatten slightly with the back of a spoon. Bake at 400 for about 5-7 minutes, until the edges just start to become golden.

Because there is only one egg in this recipe, the cookies tend to break apart very easily. This makes it so they are more of a melt in your mouth texture. Leave the cookies on the cookie sheet until they are completely cool before transferring them anywhere, or slide the parchment off of the sheet and leave them on it to cool.

Devour.

-Audrey!

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “Peanut Butter Candy Bar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Audrey’s Devil Food’s Cake

Leave a Reply

