Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Browned Butter Icing

Leave a comment

*I’d just like it on the record that yesterday, April 29th 2011, I conquered my fear of heights and went on my first ‘real’ roller coaster. I loved it. I’m so happy. Not that I’m not usually happy.*

Now for some cupcakes on this lovely day. This was my first attempt at making browned butter, and while I do think it looks beautiful in the frosting I was not a huge fan of the taste. I don’t like feeling like I’m eating straight butter. I guess when you brown the butter the flavor gets much stronger, because this was just waaaay to buttery for me. Everyone else who tried it seemed to enjoy them though! The cupcake was delicious, it reminded me of a chocolate chip cookie without the chips. I bet it would be delicious with a chocolate ganache glaze instead of the browned butter glaze.

Brown Sugar Pound Cake Cupcakes

Recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes (makes 28)

ingredients

-3 cups all purpose flour

-2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp salt

-2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

-2 1/4 cups light brown sugar

-4 large eggs, room temp

-3/4 cup buttermilk (I didn’t have any and just used whole milk..it was still delicious!)

Preheat to 325.

Line standard muffin tin with paper liners.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.

Cream butter and brown sugar about 3 minutes until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and beat until incorporated, scraping down the bowl at intervals.

Add the flour mixture in three batches, alternating with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour. Only mix in the flour until it disappears into the batter.

Using an ice cream scoop, divide the batter amongst the lined muffin cups, filling each 3/4 full. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Cool before frosting. After frosted, store at room temp in an airtight container (this is okay because the butter in the frosting has been cooked).

Browned Butter Icing

ingredients

-1 stick unsalted butter

-2 cups confectioners sugar

-2 tsp vanilla extract

-2 Tbsp milk, more if needed

Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat, swirling pan occasionally, until nut brown in color, about ten minutes. (Mine came to a simmer for a bit and it took longer than 10 minutes but still came out fine).

Remove pan from heat, pour off butter into another bowl, leaving any burnt bits behind.

Whisk in confectioners sugar, vanilla, and milk until smooth. Add more milk a little at a time until it reaches your desired consistency. Use immediately.

To ice cupcakes…

Put cupcakes onto a cooling rack about an inch apart, and spoon frosting over cupcakes just until it begins to spill over sides. Let them set for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

-Audrey

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

