Potato Chips Do Not Belong in Brownies

Leave a comment

To completely contradict my previous post, I just found this in my drafts. I guess I forgot to publish it a few days ago. Here’s a recipe!

It’s very true that you learn something new every day. Even if you don’t take note of what you’ve learned, you have learned something. Today I learned that potato chips do not belong in brownies. The only reason I learned this super interesting fact today is because I thought out of the box.

Nope, not this. Although that was one of my favorite shows when I was a tot. Musical, colorful, diverse Martha Stewart like creativity TV for kids?! Too good to be true.

But really now, start thinking out of the box. The worst it can do is uhhh….. there really isn’t that much bad that it can do.

Sometimes thinking out of the box should be literal. Like brownie boxes, for example. Don’t even bother with those. I used to think that Ghirardelli triple chocolate brownies were the best. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Brownies from scratch are 100 times fudgier, and don’t take any more time than boxed ones do. Did I mention the fact that they contain no preservatives and processed-ness? That’s just a plus.

Today I thought out of the box times two. I not only made brownies from scratch, I tried to be all creative and genius like and figure out a way to make them cool and salty and sweet. I thought that adding some kettle cooked potato chips would to the trick. I wasn’t exactly right. Or even a little bit right. I thought that since I was using nice thick cut potato chips, they’d stay nice and crispy and add another layer of texture to the brownies. Hah. I think I’m so smart. Every time I bit into a chip baked into the brownie it reminded me of that little bit of egg white on the side of french toast. That egg white that my mom used to tell me was milk so that I wouldn’t know that I was eating eggs.

I think my next experiment might be adding pretzel m&ms to the brownies. I’ll still get that salty sweet thing that I want and I don’t think I’ll lose any crunch, theoretically. These brownies would be perfect if you just left out the potato chips, so I’ll leave you with the recipe.

Thick and Fudgy Brownies

(This is my experimental recipe adapted poorly from Annies Eats. Next time I’ll stick with her recipe but add a few handfuls of pretzel m&ms instead of potato chips)

(Makes an 8″ pan of brownies. Some people say that that’s about 16. I think it’s more like 8.)

ingredients

-5 oz. bittersweet chocolate (about 1 cup of chocolate chips)

-2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped

-1 stick unsalted butter, cut into quarters

-3 tbsp. cocoa powder

-3 eggs

-1¼ cups sugar

-2 tsp. vanilla extract

-1/4 tsp. salt

-1 cup all-purpose flour

-a few handfuls of crushed kettle cooked potato chips (don’t even bother. I don’t know why i’m including this)

Preheat to 350.

Line an 8″ square pan with parchment paper, or foil sprayed with pam.

Put chocolate and butter into a microwave safe bowl, microwave at 30 second intervals on power 5, stirring after each interval until melted. Whisk in cocoa until smooth. Set aside.

 In separate bowl, whisk together eggs, sugar, vanilla and salt until eggs are totally combined with everything else. Whisk in gently warm chocolate mixture very quickly until smooth. Fold in flour and whatever add ins you decide on (pretzel m&ms, regular m&ms, chocolate chips. Basically just to have chocolate with your chocolate).

Bake until the top is beautiful and shiny and perfectly imperfect and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean, about 35-40 minutes. If you have willpower you should wait about an hour or two, until the brownies have cooled to cut them. It’s easiest to do so by lifting them out of the pan using the sides of the parchment or foil. I however, see no point in letting brownies cool and must shove them into my mouth the second they come out of the oven. The first degree burns all over my mouth are totally worth it. It’s up to you. But when there is something that looks like this…

and smells almost as good as a baby’s head but in a totally different way in your kitchen, good luck waiting those few hours. I complement anyone who can do that.

-Audrey!

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

