Black and White

1 Comment

Lots of things are black and white. Newspapers, yin yangs, adidas sandals, math. I am not black and white. I’m a whole lotta gray area. I’m good at seeing many different sides and making decisions somewhere in the middle. I’m often not very straightforward, or cookie cutter. Wishy washy, one might describe me as. Decisions do not come easily to me. But, I have no problems with the fact that I’m not black and white.

I would, however, have an issue if there were no such thing as black and white cookies. Living in New York, I’m obviously a fan. I tend to break them in half and break off a few bites of each side. I rarely prefer one side to the other, even though I am clearly a chocoholic. (I hate that term by the way. It gives a negative connotation to the addiction to chocolate, which is in no way negative). How do you eat Black and Whites?

Black and White Cookies

(barely) adapted from Joy the Baker

ingredients

-2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

-1 tsp baking soda

-3/4 tsp salt

-2/3 cup well shaken buttermilk

-1 tsp vanilla

-10 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened (1 1/4 stick)

-1 cup granulated sugar (it might be fun to try these with brown sugar!)

-2 eggs

Preheat to 35o and line baking sheets with parchment paper (very very important for these!)

Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt. (Really, use a whisk. It incorporates air into your cookies making them puffier).

Measure buttermilk, add vanilla to measuring cup and stir together.

Beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, 2-4 minutes. (Don’t skimp on the time of beating, the real way to cream butter is 2-4 minutes, not one minute like you might think).

Add eggs to butter mixture and beat on medium until combined, scraping down sides of bowl.

Add 1/3 of the flour mixture, mix on low to combine. Add half of the buttermilk mixture, mix on low to combine. Add half of the remaining flour mixture and mix on low to combine. Add the rest of the buttermilk and mix on low. Add the rest of the flour mixture and mix by hand until fully incorporated into batter.

Spoon 1/4 cups of batter onto parchment lined baking sheet about 2-3 inches apart. (I used my regular sized ice cream scoop, it was just a little bigger than 1/4 cup.).

Bake at 350 15-17 minutes, until tops are puffy and spring back when touched, and edges are just starting to lightly brown on bottom. Cool cookies. Make glazes.

Vanilla glaze

-2 cups powdered sugar

-1 tsp light corn syrup

-1/2 tsp vanilla (I used vanilla bean seeds to get those pretty flecks)

Pour all ingredients into a mixing bowl. Add in 2 Tbsp hot water and whisk until it forms a thin syrup consistency. (I needed a little more than 2 Tbsp, but start there and keep adding until you reach your desired consistency).

Chocolate Glaze

-4 oz semi sweet chocolate

-3 tbsp butter

-1 Tbsp light corn syrup

Melt butter and chocolate. Whisk in corn syrup.

To spread frosting on cookies, I just used a plain butter knife. I spread the vanilla glaze on all of the cookies first and let them sit for about 15 minutes until it had almost a shell on top, then spread the chocolate glaze on the other half. Refrigerate for 20 minutes until frosting is set, store in a single layer in an airtight container or ziplock bag. (I tried stacking mine and even with waxed paper between the layers frosting was lost).

These are a pretty simple crowd pleaser, everyone will want to know how you made them!

-Audrey!

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “Black and White

  1. I Love these cookies! Love them on the sunflower plate….looks delish:) Audrey…I have to try making these, you make them look so good and easy to make. And you know I’m not much of a baker. May have to call for tips! Love ya’. Aunt Nancy

Leave a Reply

