Rustic

Leave a comment

That’s what these muffins are. They could be elegant, if I decided that they’d be that way. But I felt like rustic today. Banana and Chocolate Muffins wrapped in earthy parchment paper. The banana keeps the muffins really moist, and the chocolate is in there for obvious reasons. As are the chunks of dark chocolate. Very few things don’t taste better when large amounts of dark chocolate are added in. I adapted this recipe from Joy the Baker’s Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread, changing it up a lot.

Slices of quickbread aren’t that easy to hand out in school, and I don’t need an entire loaf of chocolatey goodness laying around my house, so I just made it into muffins instead. Pretty much any quick bread recipe can be made into muffins. A general rule is to fill the muffin tins 2/3 full and then bake at whatever temperature is suggested for the bread starting with 16 minutes and testing every two minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

First I doubled the recipe, because I’ve come to realize that bringing any baked good to school with less than at least 24 servings is completely unacceptable. Those ravenous teenagers. Eating me out of house and home. Feel free to halve this recipe if you don’t need three dozen. 3 tsp make up 1 Tbsp, so to cut the Tbsp in half just use 1 1/2 tsp. I don’t need precalc for that(: I also used plain whole milk yogurt in place of some of the buttermilk, since I have a lot of it in my refrigerator and the quicker I use it up the quicker I’ll just have to make a Whole Foods trip. You can use all buttermilk like the original recipe states, it doesn’t make a difference. Greek yogurt also works in place of whole milk yogurt, its consistency is similar. I used plain but feel free to use vanilla, and smooth strawberry might even work too! Strawberry, banana, chocolate. Mmmm. I also replaced some of the all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour, because I like the texture it adds and I also like to pretend that substituting this makes whatever I’m eating healthy. Lastly I cut down on the amount of banana, because the ones that I recently bought were unnaturally large. Don’t forget to use the ripest bananas possible, because they’re easier to mash up.

Chocolate Chocolate Chunk Banana Muffins

(about 36)

ingredients

-3 cups ap flour

-1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

-2 cups cocoa powder (I use ghirardelli)

-1 Tbsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1 tsp salt

-2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

-1 cup light brown sugar

-1 1/2 cups white sugar

-4 eggs

-1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar)

-1/2 cup whole milk yogurt

-3 ripe bananas, mashed (I mash mine in a large, shallow bowl with a pastry blender)

-8 oz chocolate, cut into chunks (or 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat to 350

Line 3 standard 12 cavity muffin tins with cupcake liners

Whisk together flours, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. (Whisking dry ingredients has a similar effect of sifting with much less effort).

Beat butter for about 30 seconds, add the sugars and cream for 2-3 minutes, until light and fluffy.

Add the eggs to the butter mixture one at a time.

With the mixer on low, add in the bananas. (At this point the batter will look repulsive, it will come together, I promise).

With mixer still on low, add in one third of the dry ingredients. Mix only until just combined. Add in the 1/2 cup of yogurt, again only mix until combined. (You never want to overmix something once the flour has been added, overmixing something with gluten causes it to toughen up).

Add half of the remaining dry ingredients, mix on low until combined. Add half of the buttermilk, combine. Repeat with last of the dry ingredients and buttermilk.

Toss the chocolate with a few teaspoons of flour, fold into muffin batter.

Fill each muffin cavity 2/3 full (I use an ice cream scoop to do this).

Bake at 350 for 18-23 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Happy Thursday!!

Audrey!

 

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

