Reese’s Cup Cookie Bites

1 Comment

Are there any love songs about peanut butter? I totally think there should be at least four dozen. Get on that Sara Bareilles. Its flavorful, and comforting, and it manages to perfectly complement one of God’s greatest creations…chocolate. I’m not even afraid to admit that I often find myself scooping into the peanut butter jar and then dipping the delicious spoonful in a small amount of chocolate chips.  Perfect mid afternoon snack.

As much as I love peanut butter, I’m not a huge fan of plain old peanut butter cookies. I think they’re kind of boring. But take that boring cookie, shove a mini Reese’s cup into it, and cover it with some shiny chocolate ganache and finally peanut butter chips? I’m in.

These came together rather quickly, and didn’t take much effort. While the cookies were baking in the oven I unwrapped my Reese’s cups. This task brought out the competitor in me. After unwrapping about half I counted them and saw that I had unwrapped exactly half of the cups. I then began frantically unwrapping the last half, as if racing myself to unwrap the second half faster than the first. Not that I’d kept track of the time. I didn’t even realize how fast I was trying to unwrap these until I noticed 4 wrappers on the ground. I kept getting nervous that the Audrey of 2 minutes ago was going to beat the Audrey of the present. I guess I’m just crazy. Oh well.

Inspired by this recipe from Annie’s Eats

Reese’s Cup Cookie Bites

(makes 24 mini muffin sized cookies)

ingredients

-2 cups creamy peanut butter

-1 1/2 cup white sugar

-1/2 cup brown sugar

-2 eggs

-24 mini reese’s

1/2 cup peanut butter chips

for ganache:

1/2 cup heavy cream

2/3 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

2 Tbsp Sugar

2 Tbsp Water

Preheat to 350

Beat together peanut butter, both sugars, and eggs until thoroughly combined. Divide dough amongst 24 mini muffin cavities. (There’s no need to grease the pan..I thought this was weird at first but you really don’t have to). Make an indentation in the center of each dough ball. While cookies are in oven, unwrap reese’s. Bake for 13-15 minutes, until almost done. Take cookies out of oven, press one reese’s, bigger side up, into cookie until flush with top. Return to oven for 3 minutes or so. Cool cookies in pan until completely cool and reese’s are hardened again. Remove from pan and place on cooling rack for drizzling.

For Ganache:

Boil sugar, cream, and water. Pour over chocolate chips in a heatproof bowl and let sit for 2 minutes. Stir mixture until smooth. Let ganache sit until firmed up to desired consistency (I like it a little thicker than maple syrup). Drizzle over (upside down) cookies and top with a few peanut butter chips before it hardens.
Store cookies in refrigerator.

I might’ve covered my cookies in mini chocolate chips and toffee bits. But only because no one was going to stop me.

Enjoy! Happy Monday!

-Audrey!

ps…I’ve found a new homework spot. The sun shines on it until 6, making it the perfect warm stretch out on a blanket while reading an english book type place. It looks like this. It is absolutely divine.

Haha. Who talks like that? Absolutely divine. Who am I?

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

One thought on “Reese’s Cup Cookie Bites

  1. Make these for me. now.

Leave a Reply

