Sunday Mornings

Leave a comment

Yeah man I know, it’s Monday. I meant to post this yesterday but I forgot. I’m only human, you know?

*I’d like to start this post off by letting you know what a fantastic state I am in at this very moment. I am freshly showered and moisturized with some fresh scented cucumber lotion, sitting cross legged on a barstool, wearing some very oversized hot-out-of-the-dryer sweatpants and an insanely bright and happy ben and jerry’s t shirt. Florence + The Machine is sweetly echoing from the speakers of my laptop (how do those work, anyway?). I’ve just finished my dinner of roasted asparagus and a cabot cheddar grilled cheese on whole wheat. Oh, and the sun has only been down for about ten minutes (it’ll be much longer than that by the time I hit publish). I love daylight savings time. I’ve finished all of my laundry, only one outfit that I own is dirty at the moment. Dishes have been cleaned for the night. I have nothing left to do but enjoy the next hour or so before I start dozing off.*

Yesterday, I let it begin. The adventures of junior prom. One of the many high school events that we are expected to remember for twenty years, until our kids ask about what we were like when we were growing up. Of course, I’m not letting it be a big deal. It’s only a dance. In the gym. The gym that I do fifteen crunches in every other day of my life. Whatever. But, being a dance, one needs a dress. Does anyone realize how hard it is to go dress shopping when you actually need a dress? When you have absolutely no reason to wear a dress in the visible future, it seems as if dresses throw themselves at you. But when you are on a quest for the perfect dress, it’s almost impossible to find one.

Luckily for me, my dress shopping experience was nothing of this sort yesterday. A dress that I have had my eye on for months was in the sale room of Anthropologie. One left. In my size. Serendipity.

Wait, wasn’t the title of this post Sunday Mornings? What do laundry and dress shopping and prom have to do with Sunday mornings? You see, I was anticipating this dress shopping experience to be draining and upsetting, so I wanted to be able to enjoy my morning before embarking on a long mall excursion. One of my shopping partners, Kate, came over for breakfast. We enjoyed a nice hearty meal of whole wheat cinnamon swirl bread while watching my favorite movie. Life as We Know it. I’ve only seen it nine times. In the last month. That’s nothing compared to the Little Mermaid obsession of ’98-’99. I might have thought I was Ariel.

While eating this bread, I realized that there is nothing more perfect to eat on a Sunday morning, no matter what the weather is. It was comforting yet somewhat healthy, as well as filling. One thick slice was more than enough. And since it’s now Monday, I get to tell you about how well it keeps after twenty four hours. I kept it in a ziplock bag and reheated one slice in my toaster oven. It was even better today than yesterday. I don’t know why. It just was.

Have you read enough pointless tidbits of information about my life yet? Are you ready for the recipe?

Hearty Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread

adapted (slightly) from Naturally Ella

ingredients

-1 cup whole wheat flour

-1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/4 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1/2 cup sugar

-1 stick butter, melted (and cooled to room temp.)

-2 eggs

-1 tsp vanilla (the original recipe says 2, but I totally forgot to put it in and the bread was still delicious. It’s up to you)

-3/4 cup whole milk plain yogurt

-3/4 cup milk

Cinnamon Swirl:

-1/4 cup sugar

-2 Tbsp cinnamon

Topping:

Sugar in the raw

Preheat to 350

In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar.

In a separate bowl, crack eggs and beat a little bit with a fork.

Add the melted butter, eggs, vanilla, yogurt, and milk to dry ingredients. Stir to combine, be careful not to overmix!

In a lightly greased loaf pan, spread one third of the batter.

Stir together sugar and cinnamon, sprinkle half onto the batter in the pan. (This will seem like a ridiculous amount of swirl but I promise you need it.)

Repeat, with another 1/3 of the batter. Once you’ve covered the second 1/3 batter with the cinnamon sugar mixture, spread the remaining batter on top. Generously sprinkle sugar in the raw all over the top for texture. Bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Mmmm cinnamon swirls and whipped butter.

-Audrey!

ps…I think Kate thoroughly enjoyed her hearty cinnamon swirl bread…

and she ate it with a fork and knife. Not that that’s weird.

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

