Pay it forward

2 Comments

March! A new month. A month for lions and lambs. A month in which not each day is filled with the cold association with the word winter. The first of spring will be here soon enough. I had decided weeks ago that I would enter this month with nothing but sunshine and happy thoughts, and figured I’d share my positivity with as many people as I can. Naturally, I shared my totally full glass by baking treats for the largest (and most appreciative) group of people I could find… my high school teachers. I got to school early and dropped off the treats in the faculty room, but this time they weren’t for free. I put a sign up next to my letters to the faculty explaining my goal, to make my high school a more positive place. Sick of hearing complaints about weather, work, colds, I decided to do something about it. In order to eat one of my baked goods, I wanted the teachers to make sure that they’d pay it forward and make someone else smile today. So that I knew they each read my letter, I wrote in it that they should high five me if they see me. Many reassuring high fives told me that my plan had worked. A simple act of kindness and a few purple inked words on a page made nearly 100 people smile today. Imagine we all tried to make 5 people smile each day, and those five people could make five others smile? Pay it forward.

 

Now that you’ve been cheesed to death by my sappiness and my dreams of making the entire world smile, I’ll share a few recipes with you. Last night I decided that this whole pay it forward idea was more important than homework, so I made four things. Strawberry Ice Cream, Raspberry Cream Cheese Breakfast Buns, Brown Sugar Cinnamon Crumb Buns, and Heart Attack Inducing Brownies.

 

I’ll only share the recipe for Strawberry Ice Cream today, as I do have somewhat of a life. The other three recipes were all adapted from my Magnolia Bakery cookbook. Most of my recipes come from that book, but I tend to change them up a bit. I highly recommend that book to anyone that appreciates a good stick of butter with sugar and flour baked into it. Have I babbled enough today? I’m in a chatty mood. The strawberry ice cream is the easiest thing in the world, a recipe from Serendipity Sundaes. To me it tastes just like strawberries dipped in fresh whipped cream. It’s unbelievable. And even tastier when I package it in these adorable pint sized ice cream containers from Garnish. Here it is:

Simple Strawberry Ice Cream

ingredients:

-4 cups fresh strawberries, washed

-3/4 cup granulated sugar

-1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (I needed about 1 1/2 naval oranges0

-2 cups heavy cream

 

Finely chop the strawberries into a 1/4″ dice (Next time around I think I’ll experiment and puree half of the strawberries in the food processor, and then push them through a fine sieve. I don’t like large amounts of frozen strawberries in my ice cream)

Combine strawberries, 1/4 cup sugar, and the orange juice in a small bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and store in refridgerator.

Combine remaining 1/2 cup sugar and cream in a saucepan, heat until simmering. Simmer until the sugar is completely dissolved, being careful not to boil the cream. Pour the mixture into a head proof bowl and refrigerate overnight.

Pour the cream mixture into an ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions.

During the last five minutes of the ice cream cycle, pour the strawberry mixture in. Store in plastic/paper containers in the freezer.

ps..next time around I think I’d also add mini chocolate chips or bittersweet chocolate shavings, as chocolate and strawberry is my favorite combo.

 

-Audrey

 

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

2 thoughts on “Pay it forward

  1. i plan on trying out this recipe as soon as possible!

  2. Pingback: Whole Finds: Dark choco dream | plays with food.

Leave a Reply

