Save it for a Rainy Day

Leave a comment

Or don’t. I woke up to what I’d call a monsoon this morning. My last day of winter break (I don’t think of weekends as part of break). I might as well enjoy the rain, I’d much rather this to more snow! I’m going to the Met later to see GUSTER!!!! I couldn’t be more excited (that’s kind of a lie. I get really excited about everything), so I decided to start my day as well as I’m going to end it. I haven’t had pancakes yet in 2011 and recently discovered the wonders of whole wheat flour so I left the Aunt Jemima Complete in the pantry and started whisking. This recipe was so simple, much more delicious, and I’m sure it’s a lot healthier than boxed mixes of pancakes. I added vanilla and agave nectar for flavor but you could surely leave them out, or add cinnamon and sugar instead. I will never bother with the box stuff again, this was so good. Usually when I make pancakes from scratch they taste like eggs, but these didn’t! When they were cooking all I could smell was egg so I was a little nervous but they turned out wonderfully. After eating these, go find a puddle to jump in. Or a partner to dance in the rain with.

Almost-Healthy Pancakes

ingredients:

-1/2 cup all purpose flour

-1/2 cup whole wheat flour

-2 tsp baking powder

-a little bit less than 1/2 tsp of salt

-1 cup milk

-1 TBSP agave nectar

-2 TBSP canola oil

-1 egg

-1 tsp vanilla

In a small bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl (I used a four cup measuring cup so I could pour the pancakes right out), whisk together all wet ingredients, whisk until egg is totally combined with everything else.

Add the dry to the wet, stir until some lumps remain.

Cook over medium heat.

Serve with syrup, fresh berries, butter, or confectioners sugar.

ps…I registered for the Avon Walk last night! I can’t wait!

Author: audrey

I bake photograph smile drink sparkling water eat cucumbers& goldfish wake up at 6:30 dance clean have hair with a personality adore kids

Leave a Reply

